Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

When Do Colleges Rescind Acceptances?

1100101102103104106»

Replies to: When Do Colleges Rescind Acceptances?

• Shirley42Shirley42 Registered User Posts: 2 New Member
    Hi Sally! I got accepted to Gonzaga University and Ohio State University, currently waiting for University of Washington. I've been studying in US for 5 years, still a English language learner but didn't applied as international student. I had a 3.5 GPA for first three years, all of my classes were As and Bs. I'm currently talking 3 AP classes, and for the first semester I had B, B+ and C+(first C in high school) for the three AP classes. I'm wondering are colleges going to take back my offer?
    Thank you so much!
  • Sally_RubenstoneSally_Rubenstone CC Admissions Expert Posts: 4,010 Senior Member
    @Shirley42 -No, colleges won't rescind your acceptances for those grades. They're lower than your norm but the classes are challenging and the drop isn't significant.

However, you said that you're an English language learner who did not apply as an international student. If you are an international applicant but didn't disclose this, then the colleges COULD rescind an acceptance if you applied as a US citizen or Permanent Resident when you're aren't. But if the colleges are aware of your citizenship or immigration status, you're fine.

• California1969California1969 Registered User Posts: 1 New Member
    edited March 7
    Hi Sally-