Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Chance me for both Cal Poly's?

FreedoFreedo Registered User Posts: 18 New Member
edited November 2013 in California Colleges
I'm an out of state student from Nevada, and I applied to three cal state schools for civil engineering (Cal Poly SLO, Cal Poly Pomona, and San Jose State).

My stats are:
CSU GPA:

9-11th UW: 3.77 W: 3.96 (For Cal Poly SLO only)

10-11th UW: 3.89 W: 4.07 (For SJSU and Cal Poly Pomona)

SAT: 1300/1600 (CR:560 M:740)

I will also graduate with 7 AP classes:

AP Statistics
AP Government
AP Economics
AP Calculus BC
AP Physics C
AP Psychology
AP Environmental Science

So do I have a really good chance for these schools? Cal Poly SLO is my dream school, but I also really like Cal Poly Pomona too for having a large Civil Engineering program. Thanks!
Post edited by Freedo on

Replies to: Chance me for both Cal Poly's?

• ucbalumnusucbalumnus Registered User Posts: 71,657 Senior Member
    With a CSU eligibility index = 4.07 * 800 + 1300 = 4556, rejection from SJSU or CPP seems unlikely, but you never know until the results are in.

Are they affordable? Don't expect any state-based or school-based financial aid from the CSUs as an out-of-state student.
  • NCalRentNCalRent Registered User Posts: 5,764 Senior Member