Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Sign Up For Free

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

  • Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Chances at MCS and H&SS

JuiceboxHeroJuiceboxHero Registered User Posts: 141 Junior Member
edited January 2006 in Carnegie Mellon University
I am an Indian Male.
My GPA is a 3.45 in core academic subjects (Science, Social Studies, Foreign Language, English, Math), with assigning 4 pts for A, 3 Pts for B, and 2 Pts for C. I have one of the 5 hardest schedules in my school. So, this GPA is a bit deflated, in my opinion.
My rank is 99/471, but will go up to about 90/471. This is also due to many schedules that are a lot weaker than mine at a huge suburban, competitive, high-school.
I have a 800 V, 740 M on SAT I
710 Math IIC, 760 Chemistry, and 700 US History.

I recently turned 16 years old, and I am a senior, I hope that helps.
I sent in a CD, and a copy of my research paper on Field Emission. That paper was a big deal...It was at a prestigious lab..blah, blah, blah.

I am an Eagle Scout, so I have a 1000 + Community service hours with that.
I have been a varsity swimmer for 2 years. An avid swimmer for 8 +.
I'm an active Stand-Up Comedian.
I'm on my school's Math and Science, as well as Academic Quiz Bowl Teams. I have some awards and good showings at these. I am captain of two of them.
I used to play piano for about 6 years, but stopped 2 years ago.
I have lots, and lots, and lots of community service, through Boy Scouts, Habitat for Humanity, The Local Library, a Center for Autism and Related Disablities, and coaching sports to low-income kids.

Other Interests, Activities, and Notes

· Member of school’s Pep Club (Big Bad Wolves)
· Long interest in Stand-Up Comedy
· Sustained interest in hiking and other outdoor activities
· I have a very strong interest in football and baseball. I was very eagerly awaiting a chance to play on my high-school varsity teams until I suffered an injury that shattered my wrist. However, I still play intramural flag-football, as well as intramural baseball with local high-school students.
· I am very proficient at cooking traditional Indian dishes.
· I am an avid hip-hop enthusiast and DJ. I experiment with making break-beats and cutting records with my friends on weekends.
· I am fluent in Hindi and Telugu. Telugu is spoken frequently in my house, but Hindi is only spoken occasionally. I practice Hindi by watching Bollywood films. This is one of my guilty pleasures.
· During my youth, my family traveled to India, Scotland, Italy, France, and Germany. This travel has been very influential and has been instrumental in giving me a more worldly view.
· I have participated in some research every summer at the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory and The Center for Advanced Power Systems. This research has not been “official.” I will “officially” be allowed to participate this summer, as I have just recently turned 16.
Post edited by JuiceboxHero on

Replies to: Chances at MCS and H&SS

This discussion has been closed.