3.89 gpa Help with admissions?

<p>So I am a sophomore in high school and have been stressing about my grades lately. This year was really difficult and I dropped from a 3.9 cumulative weighted to a 3.89 cumulative weighted. This year I took more honors classes than I usually do (my high school does not offer AP until you're a senior). How bad do you think this will hurt my college admissions. My dad wants me to go to Harvard (which I know isn't possible). Also I know I'll be able to get a 29 maybe a 30 on the ACT, I do not know about the SAT yet. I play soccer, have been volunteering for 3 years, lead youth at my church and am planning to be on Nation Honor Society next year when I'm a Junior.</p>

<p>Haha, how much will a .01 drop in your GPA affect admissions? It won't. In fact, it may even look better because these are honors courses instead of regular.</p>

<p>you defitinely won't get in with that GPA drop. that's going to kill your application. Don't even bother applying to any pretigious colleges cause u won't get accepted.</p>

<p>Other notes, I also go to a VERY competitive Catholic High School where people with 4.0's aren't even in the top 10%. Basically you have to get A+'s always to even have a chance. And I'm ranked 54 out of 298. Plus I'm African-American(as in my parents are immigrants from Africa)</p>

<p>Low rank. Urm. It'd an iffy shot. Idk about Harvard, but you should be able to get into Cornell.</p>

<p>Are you asking how badly having a 3.9 will hurt you? As long as you take rigorous classes and maintain a good rank, you'll be fine. The actual numerical value of your GPA isn't very useful to colleges anyway. They'd rather see you getting good grades in tough classes than just getting straight A's with an easy courseload.</p>

<p>You're black? Don't worry about it. It's more than possible for you to get into Harvard. AA will save you, if you're borderline.</p>