about 3 more weeks to study for SAT...is this enough?

<p>Hello, I am an incoming senior in high school. I took my first SAT test on March 2010 and did not receive favorable results, a mere total of 1430. 540 W 460 M and 430 CR. I am trying to effectively use my time to study for the October 2010 SAT. I am hoping to increase my total score to the 1600's. Is this a realist goal? Currently I am studying on my own at home with the Barron's SAT 24th edition book. Do you have any tips to boost up my SAT score? I have about 3 weeks to study. Thank you in advance.</p>

<p>Also I am aiming to get into a UC. Are 1600's too low with a GPA of 3.6-3.7 UW?</p>

<p>You also need two SAT IIs (subject tests) for admission to a UC.</p>

<p>If the issue is getting into "a" UC, then what you need to do is go here <a href="http://www.universityofcalifornia.edu/admissions/undergrad_adm/paths_to_adm/freshman/scholarship_reqs.html%5B/url%5D"&gt;http://www.universityofcalifornia.edu/admissions/undergrad_adm/paths_to_adm/freshman/scholarship_reqs.html&lt;/a> and start evaluating what your actual UC GPA is and what your scores converted to a UC number are and see if you are getting close to minimum requirements. If you meet minimum requirements of combined GPA and converted test scores you will, if a California resident, get into "a" UC (although minimum likely gets you Riverside or comparable).</p>

<p>As you will see your UC GPA depends only on grades during sophomore and junior year in "a-g" courses and UCs have their own calculation for weighting honors or APs. The scores from each section of your SAT test and the two SAT IIs required convert to UC scores and you then add the UC scores for a total. Based on what you provide, and assuming your GPA as stated is in fact your UC GPA and you are a Cal resident, you are right now a little short short of the minimum for admission to "a" UC but two SAT II scores could take you above the minimum.</p>

<p>Oh yes, for SAT 2's I took Biology 510