Academic success = Career/Life success?

<p>What do you think? Do you believe that nerds and academic overachievers are always more likely to succeed in life than those who do not exert an effort in academics?</p>

<p>No - I think personality has a lot to do with it. You can be one smart business major, but if you don't have the personality to lead a group of people, you probably won't get anywhere in the business world. You can be one dumb but amazing artist and do very well. (And I am NOT implying that artists aren't intelligent - I am an artist at heart and a pretty intelligent person, but it's a good example of when skills can get you farther than top grades).</p>

<p>In my case, I was a strong undergraduate student who's financial situation changed after college and I was unable to pursue graduate school. So I am now stuck with a general LA degree (psych) which didn't land me the greatest job, even though I had a lot of research experience, publications, good grades, honors, etc.</p>

<p>Interesting opinion. But you must concede that people who exert an effort in school are more likely to exert an effort in other fields of their lives as well -- such as their work, their families, their companies etc. Bill Gates would serve as a prime example of a nerd in high school who shunned out all social interaction, and only focused on computer science and just working hard at school in order to succeed. Not to downplay the importance of social skills and good fortune, but I'm sure there is some correlation between academic success and life success?</p>

<p>Then you look at someone like Steve Jobs - there are exceptions to every rule. What it comes down to is whether your academic field is a good fit for your skills and interests. If it isn't a good fit, then it probably won't work out no matter how hard you try.</p>