Admissions Essay-Get Creative (Mine was about sex lol)

<p>Hey prospectives,
I am a recent Harvard grad here to offer you some advice about applying for a spot at the glorious Crimson. The admissions packet is all about putting your best foot forward, of course, showing off your talents, skills, accomplishments. Trouble is, most likely everyone you are competing with will have similar numbers adorning their type-A portfolios (ie, GPA, scores, etc). So what's an eager wannabe Harvardian to do? My personal advice is to create a shock factor. The platform for such a jolt can be accomplished in the admissions essay. I had such a crazy letter, all but one of the 10 teachers, coaches, counselors I showed it to prior to sealing it in that daunting envelope (back in the day, aka 5 years ago, we still hand-wrote our applications lol) basically reacted- WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU THINKING, DO YOU ACTUALLY INTEND TO SEND THIS TO THE MOST PRESTIGIOUS UNIVERSITY ON THE PLANET HOPING TO GET A SPOT IN THAT 2% MARGIN?? I simply smirked, said thank you for the 2 cents, and skipped along on my merry way. Now I stand here before you a Harvard alumnus with a job that pays..well..let's just say that one year out I'm living on the Upper East side sans roommates ;)</p>