Advice for a college student

<p>Hey parents, I seek your wisdom. I'm a freshman at Wake and I currently do work study in the political science department. I plan on majoring in political science and economics. During the last months I have been considering leaving the work study next year and becoming a resident technology advisor. Here are my reasons for wanting to switch (not in order of importance):</p>

<p>1) Currently, I work for $8 and hour and I can make up to $1000 a semester. That means that I get paid $2000 a year. However, if I became an RTA, I would not work by the hour and I would get paid $3000 a year. That means $1k less in loans for the next three years.</p>

<p>2) Work. Even though I spend an hour a day on CC, there is a lot of work to do. My current workload in the department is pretty easy but takes a lot of researching. If I became an RTA, I should add I am a computer expert, I would work whenever a student in the residence hall needed help. I know the lady in charge of the RTA program (I e-mailed her a lot during the summer break) and I know two RTAs and they seem to like their job.</p>

<p>The things that are holding me back from switching:</p>

<p>1) Experience. I like the professors in the department a lot and I would feel really bad if I just left them after a year. I would also lose some "experience" and knowing the professors, and simply put, not have this listed on my resume. No flames please :-). I like working there somewhat, but I don't get much "experience" so there isn't much to lose by switching over to RTA. I mostly do some research, photocopy, and other little things.</p>

<p>I'm willing to hear anything you all have to say, don't hold back :-). If you need any clarification, please let me know. Danke!</p>

<p>Unfortunately, I have no wisdom for your question, but how do you like Wake, are the academics intense? Kids happy? Common majors? Drinking?</p>