Aerospace Engineering

Hi,
I am currently a high school student.
I deeply want to be an aeronautical engineering, which means I definitely need to go to graduate school.
However, before that, I need to think of my undergraduate first.
my counseler told me that my current position is eligible for UMich and Northwestern. She wants me to ED Northwestern. Yet Northwestern does not have aerospace engineering but NW has a great campus life, a really strong engineering program and I prefer NW over UMich. However, I really worry if I do Mechanical Engineering in NW will it hinder or affect my chance to get into top graduate school for aerospace engineering ?
Do I really need to do have a aero engin degree to do graduate aeronatical space engin ? How much it will affect me?
I really into aerospace engineering. Should I ED Northwestern ?
Thank you very much

Mech E will NOT prevent you from going to work for an aerospace firm or from getting an advanced degree in Aero. It’s common. As far as EDing to Northwestern, I have no recommendation there.

Thank you very much.
Anyone know that whether I could get an internship opportunity for any airplane’s company if I am a student in NW ?

If you are an international candidate, you will be limited by your visa. Not too many airline companies are around building planes. Boeing is in Seattle and they generally have their contracts in multiple cities for EE and ME’s with the corporate engineering firms since AE’s are limited in scope.

Ohh, that’s great to know. Thanks a lot.
Yes, I am an international student. So does it not make any differences if I choose mech e over aero e ?

No. There will be some electives relating to aircraft. Make sure you take those.

Also, check with @b@r!um who had an international friend who graduated with a degree in AE. The friend found out the hard way that she was not employable neither in the U.S., nor in the home country.