Affirmative Action in poli sci PhD programs?

<p>Hello, </p>

<p>U.C. Berkeley undergrad -- 3.8 GPA; Poli Sci major/Afro Am minor
Stanford Law School -- middle of my class (non traditional grades)</p>

<p>I am a second-year student at Stanford Law. I want to also do a PhD in Poli Sci, maybe at Harvard, and eventually become a prof. I have not taken the GRE but scored 177 (99th percentile) on the LSAT</p>

<p>I plan to focus on black political thought, and the intersection of race, politics, and law.</p>

<p>what programs should I be aiming for? will being a urm help at all? </p>

<p>Thank you all so much</p>

<p>Have you done research? Have you worked closely with a professor? Please read the grad school admissions thread. </p>

<p>Why do you want a research career? Are you prepared to spend 4-6 years on focused on your research? Do you know what it takes to become a professor in today's job market?</p>

<p>I'm asking these questions because these are important questions you need to ask yourself and find the answers to. </p>

<p>Being a URM from UCB will help (poli sci comes off as being very white), but what will make a difference in admission is research, publications, and faculty letters of recommendation/ faculty relationships. Especially for top schools that admit less than 10% of applicants. </p>

<p>Also, grad school is diff. in that backwater university may have all of the experts that deal with black political thought. Harvard may not have anybody (I doubt this). Don't pick schools based on names, but on the strength and reputation of the program and your faculty mentor.</p>

<p>Hope that helps.</p>

<p>The questions that appear in the first part of your reply are incredibly condescending, and in no way answer my question. However, if you must know, the answer is yes to all of the questions. As my credentials indicate, I am not some idiot who does things without thinking them through, especially not a lengthy graduate program. </p>