Am I being completely unreasonable?

<p>I feel like such a terrible person.
Where to start? Well I'm an International student from the Caribbean and I've been studying in the US for 3 years now because I really, really want to go to a US med school, the problem is, I feel so selfish for wanting this. My parents have been hinting very strongly for me to go to University of the West Indies (UWI) for med school but I don't want to. However, there are so many pros associated with going to UWI that I'm having trouble justifying my hesitation.</p>

<p>Why my parents want me to go:
It really is an excellent school
Its cheaper
I can cut my undergrad a year short
It'll make my parents happy</p>

<p>Why I don't want to go:
I came to America to get away from the Caribbean
I don't want to cut my time here short, I've made great friends and contacts and I've dreamed about graduating as a Spartan.
I want to practice in the US and I know its extremely hard to match into residencies from a non-US school.
I'll feel like all my time spent here in the US preparing for getting into med school would have been wasted and I'll feel like a quitter.</p>

<p>I know financially that things are pretty tough and my parents have been funding my undergrad but I fully intend on funding my med school tuition out of my own pocket more than likely through loans. I also understand how difficult it would be for me to get into a US med school but I still want to try!
My compromise that I've always intended to do was to finish up my degree and apply to US med schools and UWI and weigh my options then. But that means my parents will have to fund one more year of college for me.
Am I being incredibly selfish and unreasonable for wanting this compromise? Its just so tough to have wanted something and worked at it for so long to just have to turn my back on it. I just can't wrap my mind around it.</p>

<p>The most important question is--</p>

<p>Are you a US citizen or US permanent resident?</p>