Am I being realistic?

<p>Hello everyone! Before I get into my questions I will fill you in on me and my goals. When I was younger I was never found of school. When I turned 16 and got my drivers license, my grades plummeted as I skipped a lot of school. I never to the SAT's or anything like that. When I graduated High School my friends all went of the college. I would visit them often and party like I was a college student. I was very irresponsible at that point in my life. I started creating debt for myself with nothing to show for it. When I was in my mid 20's I started thinking about going to college. For some reason I had this draw to UCLA, I started to dream of going there someday. But not having the money or the High School grades to even think about it, I quickly put it out of mind. Over the years I have pretty much had low paying jobs. My last job was bartending in a college town and depending on the days I made pretty good money on good days and had a lot of fun. Recently the Bar I worked at closed down and I was out of a job and out of money. I am now 31, with now savings, no job and stuck living at my parents house.
I have come to realize that I need to college education to get a decent job. It will be tough but I plan to once I get a job, take advantage of the fact I live with my parents. Pay off all my past debt and save up and move to California and chase my dream. I have been looking into it and Santa Monica City College has a high transfer into UCLA rate. I plan to find a cheap room to rent near by. Work for a year to get residency and then enroll at SMC. I might be 34 before I ever start SMC and 36-37 before I finish. </p>

<p>Would my age hinder my ability to get into UCLA?
Is any of this Realistic?
What are your opinions?</p>

<p>"Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you've imagined."
- Thoreau</p>