Am I screwed?

<p>Ok, so i applied to 4 colleges:
1. Depaul University
2. University of Tampa
3. California State- Long Beach
4. Milwaukee University- Wisconsin</p>

<p>I'm a Wisconsin resident, looking to get away from the cold and pursue other ventures. Depaul was crossed off the list, to expensive for me, really. Milwaukee's a last resort kind of thing. However, looking at all the info I have complied on the others, i learned two very depressing facts. </p>

<ol>
<li>The school i really want, Long Beach, is nearly impossible for a student out of state despite my 3.8 cum.GPA and 26 ACT scores, I almost positive i won't get in. </li>
<li>University of Tampa's reputation is questionable and I've been hearing a lot of mixed reviews on it. </li>
</ol>

<p>So, i've come to you wise folks here at collegeconf. to tell me... Am I screwed?</p>

<p>Those ARE good numbers, but Long Beach is tough out of the local service area! But your stas are strong (and we could use the money!). Good luck!</p>

<p>Would it be a bad idea to go to a nearby CC (like Orange County, I believe that's in their area) and transfer in? Or would that be pretty much shooting myself in the foot? Or, should I try myself with other colleges in the CSU area? I've already been accepted to Tampa, but like i said, their reps questionable as of this time.</p>

<p>I've also compared myself to other applications throughout the years, and it looks as though I'm ranked somewhere in the top 20-25% range for the school. This is, of course, a rough estimate using tools such as Cappex's charts and College board's chances system.</p>

<p>Sorry for all the pestering, just really would like to know of some ideas to get into that school/state, it's been my dream to go here</p>

<p>Are you OK with paying out of state tuition and not getting any financial aid? I could see the CSUs admitting more out of staters next year, just like the UCs are doing. But you won't get any financial aid.</p>