AP Audit?

<p>Okay, this doesn't apply to me, but it does effect me...</p>

<p>Apparently, the AP Course Audit requires classes to apply a specific consensus and whatnot (more at <a href="https://apcourseaudit.epiconline.org/)%5B/url%5D"&gt;https://apcourseaudit.epiconline.org/)&lt;/a>... And.. People I know have been kicked out of some of their classes (ex: Orchestra) because they are not able to Independent Study their AP Class and have it show up on their transcript. Is there really a requirement for a student to go to the class a certain amount of time? Our Independ Study works so the study would see both teachers the same amount of time each week (5 hours), having to see one or the other teacher after class. However, our new Dean of Students insists that the students can't do Independent Study because it would violate the AP Course Audit system... Is this for real?</p>

<p>I'm an AP teacher, and my understanding of the Audit is that a title of "AP {course}" can't show up on a transcript unless you are enrolled in a class with an AP Audit approved teacher. From that point of view, I believe that an independent study program of an AP class would not be allowed, even if it were registered with an Audit approved teacher.</p>

<p>The point of the Audit was to ensure that AP teachers knew the content that they were supposed to deliver to students throughout the course of the year. When a student is doing independent study, the teacher no longer retains the same level of control over the content, and I believe that is the reason for the inability to label the course with the AP designation.</p>