Applying to T20s as a bio major with no research experience

I’m applying to T20s as a potential biology major, and all of my internships this summer have been cancelled due to COVID except for an online program with the FDA. Because of this, I have no research/lab experience whatsoever. Do I still have a chance of getting into these schools without any published research papers or significant research projects? Should I even apply? Or should I apply as a less competitive major, like anthropology?

If you don’t get in, it won’t be because of that. So yes, you should apply if you have competitive test scores, high GPA in challenging courses, interesting and meaningful extracurriculars and fantastic essays.

None of the schools that I can think of in that category are places that admit by major for Bio- and anthro would not be an easier admit. Bio is pretty much always a big subject, so ‘getting in’ to the major is not a problem.

The majority of students don’t have research experience when they apply to college- and everybody knows that this summer has been a challenge for students.

Completely my opinion, but especially if you’re Asian and pre-med, applying for Bio at a T20 w/o research is extremely difficult (at least at my school, most that did get in had lots of research experience/science fairs etc.) I didn’t have any research experience either, but I did have a job that was public health-related and had taken some classes in the field, so wrote my essays for public health instead of Bio (you can always double major like me or change your major once you’re admitted at most T20s.) n=1, but I was rejected by all the T20s (Columbia, Cornell etc.) that I had applied for Bio b/c they didn’t have a standalone public health major/in a different school, but the ones that did accept me (Berkeley, Vanderbilt, Brown, and USC) I had applied for Public Health.