Are some people just smarter than others?

<p>Hello everyone,
I am a sophomore electrical engineering major at UMich right now. In high school I always thought I was, to put it bluntly, the cream of the crop for people my age, one of the smartest, as I always did very well compared to most people in my high school. I got all As too. But when I came here to Michigan, I started to maintain a gpa only slightly above average (for a freshman/rising sophomore engineer) no matter how hard I studied. Meanwhile, one of my friends managed to get a 3.94 gpa, and he definitely studies less than me. He's not the only one, i've met a handful of people who get 3.9+ gpas in engineering, yet it doesn't seem like they work THAT much harder than everyone else. In fact, one of them is quite lazy and waits 1 or 2 days before a test to start studying. Is there something I'm missing, or am I going to have to accept the fact that some people are simply smarter than others? (Wasn't sure where to post this lol, but I want to here some people's responses)</p>