Baseball as an EC?

<p>Hey guys,
I'm a student going into his Junior year in high school. I have a 4.0 unweighted GPA through Freshman/Sophomore year and will be pursuing IB diploma in Junior and Senior year. I've played baseball my entire life, in the most competitive league in the state. I have some ECs besides this, but due to the massive time commitment all year long for baseball, (especially in the summer, when most people do ECs) I am worried i may not look as "competitive" to top schools as people who have ~1000 volunteer hours. I've noticed that most people in this forum applying to top schools have very similar ECs. (e.g. music, tennis, cross country, volunteering, math competitions..)
Anyways, my question remains: Will playing baseball on both a top-tier school and select club team set me apart from my peers? Thanks!</p>

<p>If you're good at baseball and it is your passion, then list it including the select team, school team, whatever else you do. I don't know if it will set you apart but it does count as a serious EC that adcom's will view as a passion. You can also talk about baseball, including the commitment it's taken, in an essay.</p>

<p>Only if you can get recruited to play.</p>

<p>"I've noticed that most people in this forum applying to top schools have very similar ECs. (e.g. music, tennis, cross country, volunteering, math competitions..)"</p>

<p>Exactly. That's why your serious accomplishment and dedication to baseball sets you apart and above those other applicants. Are you a collegiate level caliber player? If you are -- your 4.0 GPA and baseball will put you in a very very nice situation. </p>

<p>There will only be a handful of top scholar, hi performing baseballers out there. There are tons of science/tennis/piano applicants each and every year.</p>

<p>May I suggest putting up some queries here?
Athletic</a> Recruits - College Confidential</p>