book about investing

<p>My S the college graduate is beginning to play around with a small amount of money at a discount brokerage. Is there a good book out that will explain the basics and beyond? I used to work in the industry 25 yrs ago but I am extremly rusty and the world has changed since my day. I have been out of the market for years.
A friend just loaned him Rich Dad, Poor Dad. I want to find something more accurate for him.
He is ADD and has poor inpulse control so I would like him to know what he is doing before he acts too quickly. He is only playing with money he can afford to lose.</p>

<p>Most investing books ... the widely-respected ones anyway ... are designed for "normal" markets (whatever those are). There's generally a lot of "assuming 8% annual appreciation" and such nonsense. Finding a book that helps with "for the next ten years there will be no capital appreciation in stocks" is really difficult. (And yes, zero appreciation pretty well summarizes actual price history for the past decade.)</p>

<p>Certainly it's useful to understand that you can't grow money if you don't save it first. But making money in the market is largely dependent on knowing which way the market's headed. At the moment, it's headed whichever way traders are trading that day. </p>

<p>If he's interested in learning, I'd suggest having him trade a faux portfolio. When things go wrong, as they do for everyone, hopefully he'll be motivated to start reading to understand the failure. JMHO of course.</p>