Business Devopment career...thoughts and advice??

<p>I am majoring in Business administration and plan on transfering to Baruch college (buisness school) in manhattan. I like the fact that the job involves building relationships with people and having parterships and closing the deal. Also traveling a lot is a plus for me also. I just need just any thoughts on this career. Would be helpful to have people who actually work in business development and how to have success with this... basically how to get this career, its job growth, any tips possible would be greatly appreciated.</p>

<p>At first I was thinking in doing management and my dad deals with project management with information technology and I was going to follow his footsteps but this job I felt I would have a lot of passion for...</p>

<p>You can get into business development (or sales) by majoring in just about anything. If you are interested in a business career by getting a BBA, I would consider Finance or Accounting to build a technical foundation. Management or marketing majors are fine but people think the curriculum seems to lack rigor. There was a long NYT article about this topic. Anyways, you can get where you want via many avenues irrespective of a specific major.</p>

<p>im trying debate for the major...cause i was going towards advertising and marketing for the major at baruch...i hate accounting soo much alsoo but ill look into it if it helps for business development</p>

<p>Major in what you love. The sales will come after. I know people in sales who were engineers, bankers, history majors and the list goes on. You like people, relationships, travel - great. Put that love of people into whatever subject matter you specialize in and you have sales/consulting/business development. If you don't love accounting, don't do it! It is too dry and is the antithesis of advertising IMO.</p>