Can I go back to school?

<p>Long story, but I'll try to make it succinct.</p>

<p>I graduated from High School in 2004 and went to Tulane (New Orleans), where I messed up big time (0.0 GPA). I returned home and got a full time job and started attending Community College (also full time) at night. I graduated two years later with a 3.9 GPA. Having found a niche career position for someone with my skills, I opted to not return to college in pursuit of a four year degree at the time. For the past three and a half years, I have been working at the executive level for an international manufacturing firm. While I do enjoy what I do and would surely miss the perks, bonuses, and international travel, I can't help but feel like I missed out on the whole college experience. I have recently been thinking about going back to school and am not really sure where to begin. Would a college worth my time and money consider overlooking my checkered past? Where to I begin?</p>

<p>Thanks in advance for your help.</p>

<p>Sure you can go back, and your past really isn't that "checkered". OK, you were not ready for college when you were fresh out of high school. That was ages ago. Since then you have A) gone to community college and been successful; and B) entered the work force and been successful. Everything before that will be pretty much ignored, I feel sure. I have to admit though, a 0.0 is quite an achievement! LOL. Ya gotta laugh about it, like I said ancient history.</p>

<p>However, having said that, two thoughts come to mind. 1) I wonder if you will really get the "whole college experience". You only have a couple of years left, maybe 3 depending on credits and what major you would pick. Also you are older and more experienced that the vast majority of your classmates would be. You may be surprised at how difficult it could be to relate; and 2) are you sure you want to give up what sounds like a good job? Who knows what the economy will be like when you out.</p>