Chance me for top LACs & Ivies please

<p>Please chance me. I realize that this can get tiring with so many people requesting chances, but I have worked hard and would really like to get a sense of where I stand.</p>

<p>I am looking at the following schools (not listed in order of preference):</p>

Washington and Lee

<p>My background and stats through the end of junior year are as follows:</p>

<p>Rigor of secondary school: Very rigorous, well-regarded public high school. One of the toughest in the entire Southwest. School always ranked amongst the top 50 nationally by USNWR & others.</p>

<p>Academic GPA: 4.0 (unweighted) through end of Junior Year. 4.2 (weighted – school only weights AP classes and APs are not allowed until junior year. All other classes honors. Honors classes are not weighted).</p>

<p>Senior Year Courseload: AP Biology, AP Calculus BC, AP Microeconomics, AP Macroeconomics, AP US Government, AP English Lit</p>

<p>Class rank: School does not rank. Probably in top 3%. Definitely in top 10%.</p>

<p>Recommendations: Should be strong</p>

<p>Standardized test scores: ACT 33, composite, 35 English, 35 Math, Reading 33, Science 30, Essay 8 (single sitting, one practice test).
SAT I: 2180, CR 690, Math 740, Writing 750, (single sitting, one practice test, do not plan to send)
SAT II: Math II 750, Physics 710, USHist 750
AP: English Comp 5, APUSH 5, Euro Hist 4</p>

<p>Essays: Will be great</p>

<p>Interview: Yes, if offered</p>

<p>Extracurricular activities:
Piano, including ensemble performance, 9 years
Soccer (club level), 10 years
HS Student Theater, 3 years
HS Peer mentoring, 2 years
Student newspaper, junior year</p>

<p>Volunteer work:
2 years horse therapy with disabled children.</p>

<p>1400 hours volunteering in Latin America in rural, economically-disadvantaged communities as a youth leader working on sustainable local health and nutrition initiatives during summers – had to raise funds for project through donations to non-profit throughout the school years.</p>

<p>Work experience: Worked as unpaid research assistant during junior year for principal investigator on a National Science Foundation grant at a major research university (8 hours a week, approximately 180 hours total). </p>

<p>Areas of interest: Mathematics, cognitive science, linguistics</p>

<p>Minority status: Mexican American Female</p>

<p>First language: Spanish, learned English at school</p>

<p>Financial Aid: Will need. Family income around $50K with two (2) children in college</p>

<p>Please let me know what you think and if you have any suggestions.</p>

<p>Your URM status will help you a LOT. These are all top schools so I cannot say for sure but you are an extremely qualified candidate. You have a shot at any one of these schools. I think Pomona and Tufuts are matches, low reaches, and the rest are just reaches.</p>

<p>Chance me?</p>

<p>Thank you! (I also chanced you back)</p>

<p>Any other suggestions on matches I ought to consider?</p>

<p>I think Penn CAS, Dartmouth, Vanderbilt, and Duke are options to look at.</p>