College Selection - What to do without rankings?

<p>At the moment, I am a student planning to major in Computer Science and have been accepted to three great universities. So far I have been accepted to Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, Purdue University, and Georgia Tech. Each of the universities are extremely different in terms of socials, location, and the overall feel of their campuses.</p>

<p>Despite all of that, I don't want to lose sight of the academics these schools offer. At the moment, I have been unable to find any way to measure the academic merit of these three institutions in Computer Science. Some companies that rank schools like US News and Business have neglected the major for a few years now (in terms of undergrad). I know they send grads pretty much to similar grad schools, and I see several similarities in the companies that are hiring their graduates. The problem is since these schools are all very, very different I no longer know how to decide between them. I could see myself at any of them and I'm short of ideas besides making a game spinner and hoping for the best.</p>

<p>Any suggestions?</p>

<p>Rankings aren't necessarily an indicator of academic quality.</p>

<p>Have you visited campuses or anything?</p>

<p>Anyway, I would personally choose Georgia Tech. It has a huge reputation, and Atlanta seems like a great location (excellent job market, and lots do to in terms of entertainment).</p>

<p>Purdue, Rose Hulman and GT are all comparable in engineering reputation. I'd suggest you visit each campus, if you can, and then decide. The environments are very different...surely you'll have a preference.</p>

<p>GT has the big city environment of Atlanta; ACC sports. </p>

<p>Purdue is a larger more well-rounded university, so if you don't like engineering, you can major in something else. Big Ten sports.</p>