Computer Programming

<p>I graduated in 2003 and went to school for only a semester before coming very ill. I am looking to go back to school, but trying to find the right school for what I'm looking is becoming tough.</p>

<p>I am looking for a school to get my bachelor's in a Computer Science field. As a career I want to be in software design, programming, or some sort of networking (like on the database end).</p>

<p>When I graduated high school, I was honor grad with a 3.8 unweighted GPA. I was in all AP classes, but due to test anxiety, I didn't do too great on the ACT. I made a 23 on it, but definitely plan on taking it again since it's been so long.</p>

<p>Anyone have any suggestions for schools? I want it to where when I get my degree, I don't have to guess what I can do with it.</p>

<p>I hope you are aware that a computer science degree is much more complex than 'programming' and that 'programming' is almost an aside. How are you at you maths and how far did you get? To calculus, I, II, III?</p>

<p>But why aren't you returning to the original school? I'm not sure how this works, but does this mean you will be a transfer student? Finding a decent computer science schools isn't hard at all. Even ones that aren't tippy top are good and you will get a good job. State schools are good, what are your state school options? Is there some other reason you find this difficult?</p>

<p>When you take the ACT, go ahead and take the SAT as well. Some people do better than one than the other. I don't know what to say about test anxiety except to read up about how to beat it, it is just in your mind. Since it has been so long spend some time boning up. For SAT, you can get the college board official book and you can take the free tutorial on Khan Academy website for the math side. With your GREAT HS grades, there is no reason you can't do very well. And if you can take 3 of the SAT I's and do well that will help with schools that require it.</p>