Concerns regarding college admission

Hello! I am an upcoming sophomore in high school who moved into the US as a 6th grader from China. During my freshman year, I took Chinese 4 Honors (my native language) to maintain my Chinese proficiency level. I heard that taking my native language would put me at a disadvantage when it comes to applying for competitive colleges. Is that true? Competitive colleges usually recommend students taking three years of the same language. If I change my foreign language class to a different language starting sophomore year, wouldn’t that mean all that time taking Chinese was a waste? This has bothered me for so long, and I could not find anyone who has been in the same situation as me.

Playing the cello is one of my passions, and I have been taking orchestra in school (and outside of school) starting in 6th grade. I know that taking orchestra consecutively every year reveals commitment, but I ended up stopping orchestra during my freshman year. The reason was that I wanted to take leadership for improving myself as an individual. My concern is that either it will be a big deal when it comes to showing commitment in my passion if I stop taking orchestra for a year. (I plan to start playing in the orchestra again this year.) Thank you so much for your time, and I genuinely do appreciate it if anyone could help!

The point of taking a “foreign” language is to develop some mastery of a non-native language. For you that is obviously not Chinese. That does not mean taking it was a ‘waste’- but to highly competitive colleges it could look like taking the ‘easy’ way. For people who start HS with 2 native/fluent languages that often means taking a third. As you have found, there don’t seem to be many hard-and-fast rules.