Do Teachers work for the Parents?

<p>I am a teacher and I thought this would be an interesting question to ask here. I'm not interested in debating good vs. bad teaching nor do I want to invite teacher bashing. I have recently gotten into several discussions with individuals in which they indicate the attitude that public school teachers "work for " the parents in their school system because they are tax payers. How do yo feel about this and how much accountability is appropriate in regard to the teacher/ parent relationship. Should the parents have more say in the hiring/ firing of teachers? Is there a place for parental evaluation of teachers and how would that work? </p>

<p>I am, of course, a parent as well as a teacher and I have some complex feelings about this issue. Tell me what you think.</p>

<p>Tough question. I would say there is more accountability to parents in lower grades, when kids can't be expected to advocate for themselves. It would make sense that parents are more involved when a child is young. But I'm stuck on the whole taxpayer thing. I mean, my taxes pay for cops. Do they "work for me"? In a global sense, yes, but teachers have more direct contact with families so I think it would be easy for families to cross the line and not treat them like the professionals they are.</p>

<p>That said, I absolutely think there is room for parents to have a say in the evaluation of a teacher. Often, parents know the real score of what is/isn't happening in the classroom.</p>