Does a high GPA and rank make up for a lack of focus in extracurricular activities?

<p>Hi, I'm a sophomore in Texas and I was rank 2 freshman year in a class of about 1500. I know that's pretty dang good, but it worries me that my ec's (orchestra, UIL academics) aren't as strong as others' in the top ten. This is mostly because I quit tennis and don't have interest in a specific subject, like math or science. I don't want to corner myself into something I don't like, but will the lack of focus in my activities hurt my chances of getting into a competitive college?</p>

<p>What colleges are you looking at?</p>

<p>Short answer: no, not unless you are trying to get into truly “elite” universities such as Harvard, Yale, Stanford, etc… It probably will not matter for UT-Austin or Baylor, for example.</p>

<p>Longer answer: Don’t worry about it. Be true to your actual interests in life, and everything will work out. Especially if you study hard. At the most, EC’s account for 25% of admissions weight. Grades and SAT/ACT scores are far and away the biggest factors. Life is too short to warp your personality just to get into a fantastic college.</p>

<p>I’m looking at Cornell, Rice and John Hopkins as my dream schools since I really don’t think I could get into an Ivy Leaguer. </p>

<p>Hmm that’s comforting to know that extracurriculars are only 25% :slight_smile: And I guess changing my interests for the sake of admissions is bad…I’m more along the lines of being lazy in deciding what I want to do though. </p>

<p>I thought Cornell is an Ivy League; I thought it just wasn’t as tough or whatever as the others</p>

<p>Cornell is in the Ivy League. (The Ivy League is just an athletic conference…some non-Ivy schools like Stanford and MIT are even more selective than most of the Ivies.)</p>