Does anyone else only want to work as an engineer for just 10 or so years?

<p>I am studying to earn a degree in Petroleum Engineering. Except unlike most others I most definitely do not want to work as an engineer for the rest of my career. Instead I hope to work as an engineer for approximately 10 to 12 years after I graduate as an Engineer.</p>

<p>After that I hope to pursue other interests such as doing whatever I can to try and bring peace between India and Pakistan and their dispute in Kashmir.</p>

<p>I was curious to know whether I am the only one with this in mind or are others also only wanting to practice as Engineers for a few years to save up enough money to pursue other goals or dreams?</p>

<p>Also, I have and always will have a passion to become an Engineer and become good at science/math and apply it to the real world.</p>

<p>Most engineers I know are at least very open to a change in career paths a few years down the road. Only a few that I know want to be engineers for the rest of their lives. </p>

<p>I think when you actually start working and people begin to finally realize that most engineering jobs are not THAT exciting or interesting, people will become a bit more open. During college, people still have optimistic views of being someone who will design the spacecraft to send a man to Mars or something along those lines. While some will do interesting things, a vast majority will not.</p>

<p>Also, it may seem like an easier way to the top by entering management. It's only natural to want to make more money for doing an often easier job.</p>

<p>LOL, at least in structural engineering, it takes 10 years before you even feel competent! It would be bad if a lot of structural engineers quit after 10 or 12 years - young engineers definitely benefit from the experience of the older ones.</p>

<p>I'm working on a project with a younger guy. He has his PE license, but he's definitely lacking in experience and makes some basic errors.</p>