Does class rank play a huge factor? Can u evaluate my competitiveness? What should I work on?

I’m currently a sophomore attending a small public high school, I’m based in NYC which is a pretty competitive region.

race: asian female

first generation/low income

Here are my stats:

cumulative avg: 93/100 (4.0). school dosen’t do weighted/unweighted

class rank: 29/116

ec’s:

founder/president of one program/startup that has members from around the global. about 80 active members

founder/president of my school’s key club (volunteering elective). 70+ active members

i currently have 50+ community service hours on the same thing

I’m wondering if I have a shot at top colleges (acceptance rates < 30%), and my dream school currently is Barnard.

yea you have a pretty good shot. Get a good essay in. Also I’d say work on some more extra circulars, like some awards or something because getting that might prove to colleges that you are fully committed to this and not just doing for apps.

Yes, it does. The good thing is that you are planning, thinking about college this early on, so there’s time to do something about it.

Your class rank is not good, especially for a NYC public school. The only NYC public schools where a class rank of top 25% MIGHT be adequate, would be one of the highly competitive, highly rigorous NYC exam schools. You need to try to improve your grades, and hence your class rank. The level of schools that you are talking about would require being in the top 10% of your class, at a minimum, unless you had some extraordinary achievement that they would make an exception for. So study hard, do your best, and take honors and AP classes if they are available to you.