Does experience count?

<p>Well, I am auditioning for the musical theater department and I am beginning to get really nervous. I am a great musician and I have been singing since an early age, but not in theater. In reality, I barely have any experience in musical theater except some tiny shows in middle school. I didn’t do any productions in high school until this year. My dancing isn’t really that great either, but my dance teacher says I show a lot of potential and I pick things up very quickly. I am nervous because the only things on my resume will be honor choirs and choral music.</p>

<p>So my question is, how much does experience count? If I go in there and really do the audition perfectly, do I have a good chance of making it? I am really nervous because Pace is my dream school and I have just come to realize my love of theater this year. I’m scared that I’m too late.</p>

<p>Ultimately, it will be about your audition! If you show a potential for growth and/or a proficiency for understanding music and text, than you will be leaps ahead of other students with loaded resumes but disconnected performances. Believe in yourself and break a leg :)</p>

<p>Thank you so much!</p>

<p>One more thing. The dance audition. Since I'm a late bloomer I guess you could say, I have very little experience in dance. For the last two months I have been taking dance classes for normal theater dance styles like jazz and such. Though I'm sure this is not enough compared to the other people who will be auditioning. I can pick up dance really quickly, my dance coach told me so. Though I can't help but be nervous because of it. I know I will probably do badly in the dance audition. Compared to the voice and monologue audition, how much does the dance audition count? I know a lot of schools, like Ithaca, don't even have a dance audition.</p>