Drawing - 'magic' required ?

<p>OK... Here's the deal:</p>

<p>I'm an international student and I would be interested (among many other things) in learning Drawing (I think that fits into "Studio Art" or something).</p>

<p>The problem is, I have <em>no</em> formal training in art whatsoever ! However, even since I was a child I've been drawing all sorts of stuff (first imitation, then experiment, etc.), and right now I'm at the level where I can draw comic strips and cartoon-like drawings at an amateurish, but certainly not afwul, level. My peers greatly enjoy my work and seem to think that I am talented (which probably amounts to nothing), but more importantly, I have consulted a professional and it would appear that I have potential for development.</p>

<p>On the other hand, I have to say that I do not consider myself as a person with an immensely high artistic inclination. I was just watching a French doccumentary about a famous Japanese illustration ("The Wave", I think it was called) and was marvelling at the tens of subtle meanings that the artist had crammed into just one image. I remember thinking "Damn ! I could NEVER do that !"...</p>

<p>My question is: Do I need to have formal training in arts in order to study Drawing (or Arts in general) ? More importantly, do I need to be highly talented (i.e. like that artist that thought of all those meanings, etc.) in order to succeed ? Or is most of it just a 'craft', a 'science' in which only <em>some</em> 'magic' is needed to become a fairly successful professional ?</p>

<p>Thanks in advance for your answers.</p>