Economics at Michigan to get into consulting?

<p>Hi, I know that Ross is a very great business school and could easily help me find work in consulting. However, in case I got rejected from Ross both PA and after my freshman year, is economics at LSA enough to land me a consulting job after graduation?</p>

<p>Eric,</p>

<p>I am a consultant working for the strategy group of one of the Big 4 systems integrators. I’ve been in consulting for over 15 of my 25+ years in business.</p>

<p>I have an Econ undergrad from LS&A, but I didn’t hire in direct to consulting, making the jump after being in sales and IT operations.</p>

<p>If you are looking to get into one of the strategy houses like McKinsey, BCG, or Bain, the route is a premium MBA from Harvard, INSEAD, or Wharton (extreme generalization, but I’m sure you get the point).</p>

<p>There are economic consulting firms, but I would expect them to only consider PhD’s.</p>

<p>If you are looking to get into the advisory firms or system integrators (Big 4 CPA, IBM, Accenture, or CAP Gemini), you have more options. Of course, a Ross undergraduate degree with a specialization in accounting and passing the CPA exam is a shoo-infor the Big 4 CPA firms, the path into non-accounting advisories will have more options.</p>

<p>My experience in the systems integration houses and Big 4 advisory groups is that, although an undergraduate Econ degree is certainly a potential route to consulting, it probably isn’t the most direct. I would predict that specialty degrees like statistics, engineering, or computer science are probably more attractive at the undergraduate level. On the other hand, an Econ degree can prepare you well for a top MBA school or Law School, which would be attractive to the boutiques.</p>