Empty Nesters aren't forever/Kids returning home

<p>I've seen some posts around CC about how kids are returning home after college/graduate school because of the economy.</p>

<p>While at a graduation party for my brother's friend's sister, my parents had the pleasure of meeting up with old friends of theirs. When I returned to the table with some more food, I caught their conversation talking about how their children were living at home now and whether they were enjoying it or not. They agreed that they loved having their children at home but after 4+ years of being on their own, it's an adjustment to see their stuff all over the house and higher grocery bills. I mentioned to someone off hand that it's hard to imagine how quickly things have changed since 2004 when I graduated from HS. Back then, it was completely expected by all that graduates get jobs after graduation. Now, it's expected that parents should expect their children to live at home after college/grad school.</p>

<p>How do you all feel about this sudden change in trends? That's part 1.</p>

<p>Part 2 is... I've broken off a lot of friendships from HS because I had totally moved on (especially after I transferred to Colgate) and developed my own interests. So now I'm back in town and basically have very few people to hang out with. And they work and already have their own lives. I also have limited mobility so it's hard for me to get around. I've been encouraged to think about moving out to a big city and live in a 2 bedroom apartment (it's really one bedroom but the 2nd bedroom is converted into a den) with them and take classes at the local university. I did that just-live-with-them deal for a month last month and part of last summer. It's nice but they completely drive me up to the wall at times so I'm not entirely convinced that life would get <em>that</em> much better if I took classes. It's also a matter of being around "my" stuff. So I'm not sure if I can do this for 3 to 7 months...</p>