Exchange student considering US institutions

<p>Hi, </p>

<p>I am studying Civil Engineering at a top UK institution.</p>

<p>I have the option to study at the following US institutions for my exchange year:</p>

<p>Syracuse
Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Rutgers</p>

<p>Could you please give me some advice regarding the pros and cons of each with respect to:</p>

<p>University atmosphere
Course choice
Location</p>

<p>Thanks</p>

<p>For course choices, read through the course catalogues at each of the websites, and ask the study-abroad advisor at your home institution. There may or may not be restrictions on the courses that you take during your exchange year.</p>

<p>Syracuse is in the northern part of New York State. Transportation from there to other parts of the country may be a bit challenging. You should be able to get a direct flight from New York City when you arrive. The winters are long, dark, and very snowy. </p>

<p>Urbana-Champaign is in the middle of the country. Transportation from there to other parts of the US will be challenging until you make friends with students who have cars. You should be able to get a direct flight from Chicago. In the winter there is less snow than in Syracuse, but it will be colder and there will be more wind. </p>

<p>Rutgers has several campuses in New Jersey. You need to find out which location you would be at. Some locations would be closer than others to New York City, which means that transportation to campus could be very easy when you arrive. The weather in New Jersey is milder than in Syracuse or Champaign-Urbana, which can be boring or a huge relief depending on your individual perspective.</p>

<p>As a Civil Engineer, this is truly a no-brainer. UIUC by a mile. If Rutgers and Syracuse came close or if they offered a better campus environment, this may have been closer, but as it stands, the choice is clear.</p>

<p>True, from the league tablesit is clear UIUC is the best. </p>