Facebook may sell itself off

<p>I have a subscription to the WSJ but because of copyrights and all that stuff I'll only post this message that I got via e-mail, not the actual article. I didn't see this posted elsewhere either.</p>

<p>"From The Wall Street Journal</p>

<p>Sept. 21, 2006</p>

<p>Social-networking site Facebook is in serious talks to sell itself to Yahoo for an amount that could approach $1 billion after having held separate discussions with Microsoft and Viacom."</p>

<p>Yep. </p>

<p>Poor Zuckerberg, only getting half of the $2billion he initially wanted. </p>

<p>We should all cry for him.</p>

<p>well it was gonna happen eventually.</p>

<p>ugh zuckerberg needs to help pay for my tuition</p>

<p>I hate facebook.</p>

<p>I read the article. It mainly says that companies like Yahoo realize that there is a lot of revenue to be made from putting advertising on places like Facebook, MySpace, or Friendster.</p>

<p>Once again progress bows down to the almighty dollar.</p>

<p>Or is it that progress occurs because of the almighty dollar--well, if you call that progress.</p>

<p>
[quote]
I read the article. It mainly says that companies like Yahoo realize that there is a lot of revenue to be made from putting advertising on places like Facebook, MySpace, or Friendster.</p>

<p>Once again progress bows down to the almighty dollar.</p>

<p>Or is it that progress occurs because of the almighty dollar--well, if you call that progress.

[/quote]
</p>

<p>man what is this hippy talk?</p>

<p>can you blame him? 1 billion dollars, I'm sure he always figured there might be a point where he could sell his site off.</p>

<p>MySpace was sold off and is still relatively the same.</p>

<p>Zuckerberg does sell off space on his site for ads, as seen by the the Facebook "flyer" purchase option available to users.</p>

<p>dcfca- </p>