Failing Courses

<p>Im in college of engineering and received a D in an upper division engineering course and a F in lower division engineering course.</p>

<p>Im a sophomore. stressed out :(
I'll repeat these courses but is the college going to dismiss me??</p>

<p>I'm in engineering, too (EE). The best thing to do is go talk to your major advisor right away. You only need to keep a 2.0 GPA to be kept in the department. Your cumulative GPA must not dip below 2.00 for two consecutive quarters or else you may get dismissed from the university. You have 16 units that you can retake and replace your previous grade. That means if you retake those courses and get As, your GPA will be recalculated based upon the new grades and the old grades ignored. Keep in mind, you can only do this for 16 units. Once you reached 16 units, both failing grade and the new grade will be accounted into your GPA. Good luck.</p>

<p>D at Davis? Wow, you fail!</p>

<p>you might be put in AP(sounds good cuz high school added good connotations to it but its not -- stands for academic probation) where u could jeopardize your admissions. however, i think davis needs all the students it can get so it wouldnt want to file u in such a standin, so ur definitely safe.</p>

<p>in other news, ppl only have to take 2 courses a quarter at davis? i didnt know it was that easy</p>

<p>** D at Davis? Wow, you fail! **</p>

<p>Don't be surprised. There are always professors out there who weed out the weaklings. When I took Electronics I (EEC 110A) about a third of the class received a F, close to a third received a D, and the rest were either Cs or low Bs. The professor purposely made the exam really tough with no cheat sheet and calculator allowed. </p>

<p>** however, i think davis needs all the students it can get so it wouldnt want to file u in such a standin, so ur definitely safe. **</p>