Female Role in Military

<p>My question relates to basically all of the branches of the military (although, more specifically, the Army and Marines), so I decided to ask all you parents who probably know a good deal about the military. Plus, the recruiting offices were closed at the mall the last time I had a chance to get out (and now school has monopolized almost all of my time once again, 0550 until 2130).</p>

<p>How does the female role differ in the Marines and in the Army (or any other branch)? I mean, which branch has more (or the most) options for females? I keep hearing from some officers and some enlisted that female roles are growing rapidly (but just how fast?). </p>

<p>What exactly is included in ground force Marines? Blowing up bridges?</p>

<p>I've tried looking online and in books for this information, but maybe I'm just a pathetic researcher. If you have any literature to point me to, I'd be grateful.</p>

<p>I'm no expert but I think there are more opportunities (options) for women in the army. It was one of the factors (probably the biggest one) affecting her decision to turn down the appointment to Annapolis and go to WP instead. It of course all depends on what YOU want to do--my daughter wants to be close to the "action" when it happens (not exactly her mother's and my hope)---USMA was her choice. If the Marines have a particular option you want that is open for women, by all means go for it! I think the options for women in all the branches are opening up more and more every year. An all volunteer military during the war on terror is going to demand it. All things and interests being equal, the fact that the Marines are a much smaller force, with a mission that is more narrowly focused you may find options more limited there.
I love the Marines by the way!</p>