Freshman Schedule

<p>I am an incoming freshman currently declared as an Environmental Science major in CNR. After a great deal of thinking I am considering switching to a Physical Science major in L&S on the Geophysics track. With CalSO coming up, I am wondering how my scheduling will work. Will my CNR advisor be able to help me work out a schedule incorporating my major change or not? I am very confused about all this and any clarification would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time.</p>

<p>The Physical</a> Science major is no longer accepting new students, and will be discontinued after spring 2013.</p>

<p>Do you really mean Earth</a> and Planetary Science major? That has a Geophysics track.</p>

<p>Note that you can make progress to both Earth and Planetary Science Geophysics and Environmental</a> Science in the first few semesters, because many of the requirements taken early in your university career are the same:</p>

<p>Math 1A, 1B (AP</a> credit may let you start in a more advanced course than 1A)
Chemistry 1A
Physics 7A, 7B</p>

<p>Some of the other early requirements for Environmental Science (e.g. the biology and economics courses) can fulfill breadth if you change to Earth and Planetary Science.</p>

<p>A freshman schedule assuming no AP credit that will let you work toward both majors would be:</p>

<p>Fall:
R&C A
Math 1A
Chemistry 1A
Environmental Economics and Policy C1</p>

<p>Spring:
R&C B
Math 1B
Physics 7A
Biology 1B or 11/11L or breadth</p>

<p>Yes sorry that is what I was referring to. I was just wondering whether my CNR advisor would help me set up a schedule for a different major. Also, does a 5 in AP Chem exempt me from Chem 1A?</p>