Good At Math vs Ahead In Math

<p>I know a kid who got into MIT who claims he "isn't particularly good at math--just ahead." He took AP calc in sophomore year or something. I'm thinking back to my middle school years, where I tried to accelerate but hadn't learned QUITE enough in elementary school to just skip a year. I'm a sophomore taking Algebra 2 but I know several kids in my grade who are at least a year ahead of me.</p>

<p>I know I'm good at math. VERY good at math. It's not that I get the best grades in math, or that I have the best scores in math. But trust me, I am GOOD at math. Is it worth it for me to try to skip precalc, perhaps over the summer, if only to prove that to colleges?</p>

<p>Do Pre-cal your junior year and do Calc BC your senior year. It'll make you competitive enough. To show you're "very good at math" in an applicant pool like MIT's, you'd need awards or several college maths [diff eq, lin alg, analysis, etc]</p>

<p>when you say "competitive enough"--?</p>

<p>^meaning that you will have taken the same math classes as most of the applicants.</p>

<p>
[quote]
I know I'm good at math. VERY good at math. It's not that I get the best grades in math, or that I have the best scores in math. But trust me, I am GOOD at math. Is it worth it for me to try to skip precalc, perhaps over the summer, if only to prove that to colleges?

[/quote]
</p>

<p>No, there is no need to skip a grade of math. It will not make that much difference, as taking calculus or multivariable in senior year is fairly common for applicants of highly selective schools, and will not necessarily make you stand out in any way. Skip a year if you love math for the sake of the subject matter and want to challenge yourself, but do not rely on it to make a difference in admissions. You can also prove that you're good at math in so many other ways.</p>