Graduate School Recommendations

<p>I am a international student with following profile:</p>

<p>Discipline: Mechanical Engineering
Institute: Best public univ for engineering in country
GPA: 85.4/100 (Topper had 89%. I am in top 10 of a class of 155)
GRE: Q=800 V=600 AWA=4
TOEFL: Not given (Will probably get over 100 )
Academic Research: None (Final year project was nothing special )
Professional: 1year in fortune 500 oil and gas as maintenance engineer
1 year in largest national fertilizer producer as maintenance engineer ( mostly worked in vibration analysis if that can be counted as research exp.)
1 year as qc/erection engineer in a new mechanical erection project
LOR: 1 industry, 2 former professors ( professors don't have international recognition )</p>

<p>I am looking to apply in 10 universities (8 US, 2 Can). Suggestions are requested as for ambitious(3), competitive(5) and safe(2) universities. Cooperation is highly appreciated.</p>

<p>You literally want us to tell you which schools to apply to?</p>

<p>@denizen</p>

<p>You are right, its asking for too much. Although I have a fair idea of schools I am going to apply to but I have no idea whether I stand a chance at top 25 schools with almost no academic research and LOR's from local faculty. If some one can share his knowledge about similar cases I would be highly thankful.</p>

<p>I'll do my best to answer if I think you're competitive for top 25 programs:</p>

<p>-I don't know what a 85.4/100 GPA converts to on the 4.0 scale - 3.416? If so, that's not too strong. 3.5+ is usually considered competitive for domestic students. For international, the bar is set even higher.<br>
-Your GRE score is great.
- Lack of undergraduate is a minus, but your industry research appears strong. </p>