How does an internship look on my resume?

<p>I am a great student in high school but really don't have any extracurriculars that stand me apart from others. I have a 3.85 GPA unweighted with a 2100 SAT Score (which I plan to improve). </p>

<p>I volunteer at my local hospital and I have been working as an intern this summer. These two activities are basically my only extracurriculars. How well does an internship look? I plan on beefing up my resume by the fall before I officially apply to colleges. With a resume I don't exactly explain what I learned or experienced in my internship so would an internship really only be a MAJOR PLUS if it was incorporated in one of my essays?</p>

<p>My goal is to get accepted into a top 20 school and at this point in time the only thing I can do to improve my chances are to make my resume bigger and better.</p>

<p>It's not a "major plus" when compared to the applicant pool you'll insert yourself into. Your competitors will have the same if not more. But at least you have it. The key for you will be rec letters and if you can improve your SAT, do so. Obviously, take the hardest class load this fall and top it off gradewise.</p>

<p>Would you say that teachers and the principal know you to be one of the handful of top academic students at your school? Generally, these are the viable applicants to the schools you're targeting.</p>

<p>Good luck to you</p>

<p>Would my internship really only make an impression if I wrote about it in an essay? In a resume I would not be able to write much about the experience.</p>

<p>it depends on what kind of internship. a few more details would help. Then it may be worth writing about?</p>

<p>Im working at an engineering company that is currently working on a subway transit center in Manhattan, New York.</p>

<p>can you get a letter of reference?</p>