How many courses per term at Oxford?

<p>Hello, I am planning on studying abroad at Oxford for the spring. I was wondering how many courses per term is the usual at Oxford. I will be at St. Peter's. It looks like for each term you choose a major and a minor for 8 weeks. For the major you meet 8 times, once per week, and for the minor it is every other week. Can anyone clarify for me? Thanks!</p>

<p>Congratulations on what I hope will be a great experience for you! While I can't directly answer your question, I just want to clarify some university lingo that differs here in the States from what it means in the UK. Courses, as in the classes signed up for, are called modules in the UK. Courses in the UK refer to the 'major'. To the extent of my knowledge, minors are not typically offered in the UK. It may be a different situation are you are studying for only a semester abroad.</p>

<p>Yes, zestokes. I am studying abroad for the spring semester.</p>

<p>
[quote]
Congratulations on what I hope will be a great experience for you! While I can't directly answer your question, I just want to clarify some university lingo that differs here in the States from what it means in the UK. Courses, as in the classes signed up for, are called modules in the UK. Courses in the UK refer to the 'major'. To the extent of my knowledge, minors are not typically offered in the UK. It may be a different situation are you are studying for only a semester abroad.

[/quote]
</p>

<p>So... you have no idea?</p>

<p>I can't say that I do know the specifics about her study abroad program. The intent of that post was to clarify that the vocabulary being used (minor, major, course) are either completely irrelevant in UK universities or hold different meaning - which I'd say is pretty important.</p>

<p>^ you're wrong on that score. the word 'module' has no meaning at oxford.</p>

<p>Well I just checked with my son whose at Oxford in case terminology has changed. </p>