How much does a legacy help?

<p>Well, I found a program I'm really interested in but at this particular school it seems I'm not a very strong applicant. I really want to go there but my stats are 3.4gpa and 1170gre, while their averages come in at 3.7 & 1350 (or 650gmat). Needless to say my chances probably aren't too good. </p>

<p>Fortunately, I think if I study I can bring up my quantitative score by 100pts or so, but even if I get 150pts higher (that would be an 800), I'll still come up 20pts short. I really don't think I can get a better verbal score either, I studied 3 months and brought it up about as much as I could.... So basically even if I do well on the GRE retake I'll still come up short and I can't improve my GPA.</p>

<p>One redeeming factor may be that my father went to the same school (well, he went there for undergrad and med school at least.) I know that should prove advantageous but I was wondering how much of a difference it will really make. I'm also open to suggestions; I've got a backup but I'm pretty much set on going to this school and I'll be disappointed if I can't get in.</p>

<p>Thanks in advance!</p>

<p>You will likely need to take the GMAT, and not the GRE, as an admissions requirement for business school.</p>

<p>Thanks, but the GRE actually is accepted at the school I'm applying to. Here is a list of business schools at accept the GRE: </p>

<p>MBA</a> Programs that Accept the GRE® General Test</p>

<p>Ask yourself this - what would you think of someone hired for a job because he was an exec's son? Now apply that to school. Legacies are fast becoming a thing of the past.</p>

<p>Have you taken any of the courses available to improve your scores? Back when I applied for graduate school I knew I needed to nail the GMAT, so I studied my rear off using the Kaplan books and took a 730. The same applies to the GRE, it's not magic it's sweat and effort for the most part.</p>