How much does it hurt to apply for FA?

<p>I'm an international student living in the US (for almost 9 years now). I'm a Canadian citizen, but since I was born in China the process of getting permanent residency is going to take a long time, and I probably won't have my green card until after I apply to colleges. So this is more for parents/students who've had experience with financial aid/being international and such, but how bad will it be for my application if I need a LOT of aid? I'm aiming for liberal arts colleges, and some top tier universities. Sorry for the vagueness, but I'm just a junior right now so I haven't exactly figured out a definite list yet.</p>

<p>If you need a LOT of aid, you had better apply for it. How else will you pay for your education? </p>

<p>Since you are Canadian, be sure to put some Canadian institutions on your list. They will almost certainly be significantly less expensive for you than peer institutions in the US.</p>

<p>As Happymom said...if you NEED a LOT of aid, what good will it do you to get accepted to a college if you don't apply for and GET that aid. Apply for the aid. </p>

<p>As an international student the following will likely be the case:</p>

<ol>
<li><p>Your application for admission will be reviewed with other international student applications...they ALL seem to be very competitive applications.</p></li>
<li><p>Only a very small number of schools are need blind for admissions (meaning they don't look at your finances when considering your application) AND meet full need for all accepted students (meaning they provide financial aid to meet what the school calculates as your need).</p></li>