How to transfer into an elite school?

<p>Hi,</p>

<p>I am an incoming freshman at a top public school (UCLA). So far, I really like everything about it. However, I have pondered trying to transfer to position myself better for an entrance into finance ( I have heard recruiters are not taking many UCLA students so we will see) and would really like to put myself the best position to do so. However, I don't really know what to aim for. I am a pre-business economics major and would like to pursue business at any other university I possibly transfer to. So I guess I am basically asking is what I need to transfer to schools such as:</p>

<p>Upenn Wharton (did not apply)
Dartmouth (did apply, rejected)
Cornell (did apply, rejected)
and I guess while we are at it:
Yale
MIT (did not apply to either)</p>

<p>I was a good HS student, but nothing exceptional (3.5 UW, 3.8 W, 33 ACT, good ECs), but will this factor in? Also, when is the best time to apply, after freshman year?</p>

<p>Thanks, any advice would be appreciated</p>

<p>gosh, i can't stand threads like these....</p>

<p>Alright, how about you give the school at least a day before trying to get out of it hmm? It's pretty depressing to see a good amount of kids looking to automatically leave their current school without even giving it a moment of their time to see if they actually enjoy it.</p>

<p>Especially when dealing with the "elites" as you're referring to them, DON'T APPLY BASED ON A NAME OR REPUTATION!!!! Honestly, can we stress this enough? It's about FIT to the specific school or program. Have you researched any of the programs at MIT? Cornell? Yale for that matter? or are you interested in leaving your school for the sole purpose of trying to get into a "name" school. </p>