I realized I'm Not Getting Into My Dream College..

<p>I'm a sophomore in high school and my dream university is Boston College. I would basically do anything if it meant i could be a part of that school. However, today i received my report card and it was a slap in the face. i had gotten an overall average for my first semester as a 90 with a midterm average of an 82. First quarter i had a 90 and second quarter without the midterms was a 93. I tried so hard on my midterms it is not even funny. I spent hours studying but I guess it was no use. Because I did so poorly on my midterms i won't be able to make second honor roll, which i have been doing every quarter since freshman year began and i will not be in National Honor Society Junior year. I realized theres no way I'm getting in there.. I take only one honors class. Knowing this really sucks. I wanted to go there SO badly. I even visited the school (not an official visit though) and as soon as i saw it i said to myself i would do my best to get in here. And look where i am now. I'm not going to get in at all. I hate this so much. But what i'm asking is if there is ANY chance for me to get in and if there are any of you who have had similar instances. thanks.</p>

<p>If BC is your dream school, you should apply.</p>

<p>In choosing your list, you should have schools that you honestly feel are "target" schools and one or two that you (and your GC) honestly feel are "safety" schools. If you do this there is absolutely nothing wrong (and a lot right) with applying to a "reach" or two. And, if you don't apply there is no chance of getting in.</p>

<p>As to your situation -- you may be over-reacting to a disappopinting set of mid-terms. It's not the end of the world. Plenty of people have a bad semester or even a bad year and still get into excellent schools (even schoolsof BC's caliber). Just do everything you can to pull up your grades. It's all you can do.</p>