I wonder if this is a stunt or it's real...

If real, it’s pretty sad state of affairs…

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/a-college-student-blows-inheritance-bert-show-205833329.html

I’m a soon-to-be college student and have a hard time digesting this read. It’s sad that it took her almost all of college to realize she’s supposed to budget and work for her education.

If she had $90k and tuition is $20k per year, yes very careful budgeting would have gotten her through 4 years, but it is really that outlandish to spend $30k per year instead of $20k?

And yes, I do think her parents should have watched it a little more closely. It’s not like they didn’t know she was going to Europe or that she clearly can’t do 3rd grade math and divide $90k by 4. I have a daughter would would be fine and I have one who would, just like this girl, be shocked, shocked I tell you, that she’s out of money after 3 years. One I’d let loose, the other I’d ‘review’ the budget with often.

I still doubt it to be honest. Unless she was living at home and commuting – which I doubt very much that she was doing – she would have had dorm fees and mandatory meal plans each year. That’s realistically another $5000-$10000 a year. Throw in insurance, miscellaneous fees, expenses relating to a car if she had one, books and supplies… if she was living off of the corpus and had no other income or contributions I don’t really believe that she could have budgeted her way to success. The tuition alone would have been $80,000 in total – assuming that it was the same amount each year which it probably wasn’t. That means that she had $10,000 to pay for everything else that comes with living as a full-time student at college for four years.

(This isn’t an excuse for her irresponsibility though; that money should have lasted 4 years if she had taken out a part-time job to help defray expenses or attended a more affordable school.)