I'm an unlikeley transfer student

<p>About three years ago, I had just barely graduated from high school. I didn't have such a great home life, and when I first started going to community college, it was only because I wanted to spend more time with my boyfriend (bad idea). Needless to say, I didn't do very well for those first two semesters. I had a 2.0 GPA for that year, and although I was taking mostly art classes and non-transferable electives, I know it's still going to hurt me. </p>

<p>My homelife got worse sometime around there, and I left. I took two semesters off in search of myself, got a job, rented a house, and bought a car. When I went back to school, I started getting all A's. Now my GPA is about a 3.4, I still have another couple of semesters at the city college to go before have all of my transfer requirements down. I am the youngest broadcaster with a regular time slot at the local radio station, I've been printed in the Sacramento Bee, and I am also an English tutor for both a local company, and the college. </p>

<p>I know that I'm a talented writer, and one day I want to do more than just work at a city newspaper or a local radio station. I'm working as hard as I can to elevate myself above the poor decisions I made a couple of years ago, and I want to eventually get into Berkeley as an English major. I've tried to convince myself that I would be happy going to UC Davis, Irvine or CSU Chico, because I know I could get into those, but I know that I would never be satisfied with myself there.</p>