Importance of undergraduate ranking

I had my heart set on attending a top thirty school due to the flexibility in its art program. However, I was deferred early action and accepted to my second choice, a top sixty school. The second school has recently grown on me for several reasons, particularly because I could easily become a history major if I for some reason decided that I no longer wanted to pursue art, whereas at the first school I would not necessarily be able to do so since I would have to apply to another school within the university beforehand.

That being said, I do have one reservation about the second school. Like the majority of students on this website, I’m influenced by the USNWR rankings. If I attend the second school, would this significantly impact which graduate school I could attend (assuming I continue getting good grades)? Would this be the same if I graduated with an undergraduate degree in art and then decided to pursue a degree in history in graduate school? Thanks.

For art, I believe your portfolio is what matters, not the USNWR ranking of where you went for undergrad.

Ignore the USNWR. Grad school admission is not affected by a difference between “top 30” and “top 60”.

You don’t need to major in history to apply to grad school in that field, however you will need to pick up enough classes in history and related topics and get good LORs to be a viable candidate. When you get closer to that point in your life, take a look at what your target grad programs indicate about their expectations for applicants, and see what coursework you should have.