Is SAT really all about practice/study or natural skills?

<p>In other words, is SAT all about practicing (CollegeBoard, Princeton Review, ect) or how much skills you have in yourself?</p>

<p>I studied so hard on the SAT, (i completed 8 tests on COlelgeBoard), and my scores improving only by a 100 points. I only have 1550 SAT score, and everyone else, even foreigners who never visited United States, received 2000. </p>

<p>How do people do this?? It's just crazy... Any advice? I've even went to SAT programs and it was a complete trash, only testing, and doing lessons.</p>

<p>Math: 550
Writing: 480
reading: 390</p>

<p>The test makers try to design an exam that assesses your "critical thinking skills."
While it helps a lot to have "natural skills" at the test, you CAN learn to improve your score if you study smart. </p>

<p>As a former tutor I've seen many students who've improved their scores from the 600s to the high 700s. I'm willing to bet you can also improve your scores significantly. </p>

<p>One question you might want to continually ask yourself during your studying is, "Is the way I'm studying helping?" </p>

<p>I learned that often when a student keeps having the same score range even after taking numerous practice exams, that the problem lies in the student never changing his/her study plan.</p>

<p>Right now, as I type this, I was studying for the SAT's.
Although there really isn't a set method to study, the best way is to review problems you missed and go over them. For math, the same style of problems are presented over and over. When you read, just know that all the answers are in the passage. You just need to understand the passage and take notes on specific parts of the passage like where the author uses figurative language, a word that is misused in the context. Because more likely than not, questions will appear on these types of sentences.