Is this ridiculous? (pertaining to AP awards)

<p>I'm a freshman taking two AP classes: AP World History and Human Geography. I have been studying economics privately for about eight months and feel confident that I have enough time to prepare myself for Macro/Micro exams (the material doesn't look extremely challenging). Next year, I will be taking U.S. Gov't and Stats AP.</p>

<p>If I do well on all of these tests, I could have the potential of obtaining the National AP Scholars Award by sophomore year, which I haven't heard many achieve. The only task I'd have to complete would be to self-study Psychology (which I'm very interested in, but unfortunately, it is not offered in my school) and Comparative Government, which may be a bit more of a challenge, but I know my gov't teacher for next year and he can help me with that. </p>

<p>My question is, is this worth it, or should I just stick to the AP tests that I will take via my classes? I'm not sure if receiving National Scholar Award by sophomore year is anything to note, or if it will help me out, but if it doesn't, I may just end up taking a few less AP exams, though it'll still be in the 6-7 range. Lastly, $84 a test kind of blows, since one of my parents just lost their job (and can't receive unemployment benefits, which I won't go into at the moment) and the other is on the verge of being dropped. Should I still dive into this task, given that even with these financial problems, I still won't qualify for price deductions?</p>

<p>Thank you for any help and sorry for the long post.</p>

<p>How many APs are actually offered at your school? In college admissions, if you school has like 25 you are "expected" to have taken more than the school with none. However, self-studying also shows a great deal of initiative, and I think that's great.</p>